Cave le Tambourin – Corin (Sierre)

This report looks at the 2015 vintage of the legendary Fendant du Valais (made from the Chasselas grape), in the company of Ismaël Bonvin, wine-grower and producer at Cave Le Tambourin in Corin, just above Sierre.

When discussing his favourite wine, Ismaël wants to return briefly to the historic choices made by his wine cellar. When Ismaël inherited this wine cellar in 2008, he made a significant choice: to replace certain traditional varieties with speciality grapes. 

This strategic choice has allowed the company to meet the expectations of its current clientele, which shows a marked interest in high-quality, atypical wines.

Among the other choices made by Ismaël, and contrary to many wine cellars in Valais, was that of calling his Fendant by the original name of this grape variety, that is to say Chasselas. In his opinion, consumers are confused by the variety of appellations associated with the Valais region, and it is the original name that should be promoted for all wines.

This Chasselas vintage has a great freshness, with linden blossom notes and a noticeable minerality, thanks above all to the shale and limestone specific to the Corin region above Sierre. In the mouth, the Chasselas is a very crisp wine with a good length and a carbonic touch entirely typical of Fendant wines from Valais.

Light and perfect as an aperitif, this Chasselas 2015 is the ideal match for cheese dishes, a Valais raclette or a traditional Valais plate of cold meats and cheese. For the more expert wine lover, Ismaël also advises tasting this Chasselas at the end of every meal, particularly if it has been accompanied by a number of substantial red wines. It will revive the most jaded taste buds!

This wine is available to pre-order from the Tambourin cellar at the price of CHF 13 a bottle.

Talking about the 2015 vintage, Ismaël gets straight to the point: 2015 was a particularly easy year with no surprises for the Fendant. The wine has some beautiful aromas, low acidity and an alcohol level appropriate to this grape variety.


www.letambourin.ch

Cave le Tambourin – Corin (Sierre)

Ce reportage évoque le millésime 2015 du légendaire Fendant du Valais (issu du cépage Chasselas), en compagnie de M. Ismaël Bonvin, vigneron-encaveur à la Cave Le Tambourin à Corin, juste en dessus de Sierre.

En parlant du millésime 2015, Ismaël va à l’essentiel : l’année 2015 fut particulièrement facile et sans surprise pour le Fendant. Le vin possède de beaux arômes, une faible acidité et un niveau d’alcool adapté à ce cépage.

En parlant de son vin coup de cœur, Ismaël souhaite revenir brièvement sur les choix historiques de sa cave. En effet, après l’héritage de cette cave en 2008, Ismaël fait un choix fort : le remplacement de quelques cépages traditionnels par des spécialités. Alors que le Chasselas, le Pinot Noir ou le Gamay prédominaient par le passé, la cave le Tambourin plante de plus en plus de spécialités.

Ce choix stratégique les positionne en adéquation avec les attentes de la clientèle actuelle, qui présente un intérêt marqué pour des vins atypiques de qualité.

Parmi ses autres choix assumés et contrairement à bon nombre de caves en Valais, Ismaël décide d’appeler son Fendant par le nom de son cépage d’origine : en l’occurrence le Chasselas. Selon lui, le consommateur se perd dans les appellations liées à notre région, le Valais, et c’est le nom originel qui doit être mis en avant pour tous les vins.

Ce millésime de Chasselas est d’une grande fraîcheur, avec des notes de tilleul et un côté très minéral, grâce notamment au schiste et au calcaire spécifique à la région de Corin en dessus de Sierre. En bouche, ce Chasselas se veut très vif avec une belle longueur et une touche carbonique, tout-à-fait typique des Fendant du Valais.

Léger et parfait pour l’apéritif, ce Chasselas 2015 se mariera idéalement à des plats à base de fromage, à une raclette du Valais ou à une assiette valaisanne. Pour les plus experts, Ismaël conseille également de déguster ce Chasselas à la fin de chaque repas, surtout si plusieurs vins rouges conséquents l’ont accompagné. Il ravivera toutes les papilles fatiguées !

Ce vin est disponible en précommande à la Cave le Tambourin au prix de CHF 13.- la bouteille.


www.letambourin.ch